Friday, 19 December 2014


George are set to be honoured with The Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The Recording Academy - which also hosts The Grammys - announced its annual Special Merit Awards recipients earlier today (December 18), with George Harrison, The Bee Gees, French composer Pierre Boulez, blues guitarist Buddy Guy, Tex-Mex accordionist Flaco Jiménez, country duo the Louvin Brothers, and jazz axophonist and composer Wayne Shorter as Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

George Harrison passed away in 2001 at the age of 58, while The Bee Gees' Maurice Gibb died in 2003 at the age of 53 and his brother Robin in 2012 at 62. Barry Gibb is the only surviving member of the band.

A special event will take place on February 7, 2015 in Los Angeles, and the day after will see the Grammy Awards ceremony take place at the Staples Center, also in LA, where a formal acknowledgement of the honours will be made.

Speaking about the Lifetime Achievement Awards, Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow commented: "This year we pay tribute to exceptional creators who have made prolific contributions to our culture and history. It is an honour and a privilege to recognize such a diverse group of talented trailblazers, whose incomparable bodies of work and timeless legacies will continue to be celebrated for generations to come."

Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith and Beck have all been nominated in the Album Of The Year category for the 2015 Grammy Awards. Sheeran's album 'x' is also nominated in the category of Best Pop Vocal Album alongside records from Coldplay, Sam Smith, Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus and Ariana Grande. Sam Smith's 'Stay With Me' will face off against Iggy Azalea and Charli XCX's 'Fancy' in the category of Record Of The Year.

The Grammy Awards ceremony will take place in Los Angeles on February 8, 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...